Switch wiring for dummies

https://industruino.com/forum/help-1/question/switch-wiring-229

I'm a mechanical engineer, no so electrically inclined, so I'm trying to follow the above switch wiring and I'v got the positive side of my power supply connected through a cheap float switch from Amazon good for 1/2 an amp current. I keep welding the contacts, At first I had it wired to ground as the post stated exactly as stated, but I kept welding the contacts and I'm pretty sure I kept tripping the overcurrent protection on that pin. I thought I had it fixed by wiring the positive to the input, but alas, it welded it again. Is this an issue with it being a cheap float switch or is this an issue with magnetic field flyback which I don't see how since I'm not using a relay. I just need a simple make or break signal to tell me a drain pan is full, or is this simply a matter of too much current. I'm running off of a 100 watt 24 volt power supply (we had it on hand) . Can I solve this with a 1n4004 diode and a resistor or something? I ordered a better float switch good for 20VA which is what close to 1 amp. Like I said, I'm a mechanical guy, I can design you an air conditioner, but struggle a little with electrical stuff. 

Wired it like this the 2nd time

"Hi Albert, the wiring you describe is correct, you can connect the 24V of your PSU to a digital I/O channel of the IND.I/O via your switch. As far as i know, the best way would be to first declare the channel as digital output, write LOW to it, then change it to digital input, e.g. in the setup of your sketch.

Convert as an answer

Tom 

on 10/9/16, 7:17 AM

Hi Tom. So there is no need to connect any resistor in between the psu and digital input? I can connect V+ from psu straight to digital input when switch is on?

I wired it like this first time: