MODBUS Libraries

Hi all,

I've been using Industruino implementing Modbus RTU in a couple of projects. Everythings work fine. But now I'm trying to use Modbus in a new application and I have not succeded until now.

I guess that the problem could be the offset of the registers in the slave, but is not possible for me to check it. I us the SimpleModbusMaster Library, wich has no error management. I found another library simplemodbusng that has the error management, but that it doesn´t allow me to change Serial to Serial1. I've tryied to edit this second library to include Srialport selection, but everything was a mess (I'm not a programmer) and the scketch is not compiling.

The question: do you know any library that include error managment for RTU and support Serial1 choice?

I'm specially interested in wrong adress, wrong id and wrong data type.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Joaquín Murillo
Joaquín Murillo
| 2 1 1
Asked on 6/14/19, 5:26 PM
vote

Finally I could manage to modify the library to store the frame[x] values in the register matrix that, when an error is returned, contain the type of error (together with more information). So I could ensure that the modbus Id I was using was ok. 

Now my problem is different. In this project I read the modbus registers of a Fronius PV Inverter in order to manage the excess energy for Off-grid PV installations. This is something that I've been doing for a long time and everything is ok. Now I want to implement another device, which is a Fronius Energy Meter in a specific point of the electricity installation (this is the device I had problems with), in order to have more details of the energy flow. This Fronius Meter is fully compatible with the Fronius Inverter when the inverter is the Master (I have installed some of these systems and they communicate via Modbus RTU with no problem). But in my case both, Fronius Meter and Fronius Inverter must be slaves and Industruino the Master.