How to connect a HCSR04 ultrasonic sensor to a Industruino IND.I/O D21G?

Hello, I am a mechanical engineer with little experience with electronics. I have a 12V power source attached to the Industruino. I have tried quite a few methods to get the sensor to work but I can't seem to get it to return any inputs. I swtiched my code from Indio.digitalWriteMode to pinMode to try and work with the extension ports but that  failed. I also tried various pins (4,5,6,7,8) in both pinMode and digitalWrite. I have attached my full code below. Could someone point me in the correct direction on how to wire it properly and how to figure out what to put in for the digitalWriteMode? As in, what number do I put in for each channel?

#include <Indio.h>

#include <UC1701.h>

const int triggerPin = 1;

const int echoPin = 0;

int backlightIntensity = 5;        // LCD backlight intesity

static UC1701 lcd;

void setup() {

Indio.analogWriteMode(1, V10_p);  // makes it so I can input any #1-10

Indio.analogWrite(1, 50, true); //set to 5V

pinMode(triggerPin, OUTPUT);

pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);

SerialUSB.begin(9600);

analogWrite(26, (map(backlightIntensity, 5, 1, 255, 0))); //convert backlight intesity from a value of 0-5 to a value of 0-255 for PWM.

}

void loop() {

// Trigger the sensor

Indio.digitalWrite(triggerPin, LOW);

delayMicroseconds(2);

Indio.digitalWrite(triggerPin, HIGH);

delayMicroseconds(10);

Indio.digitalWrite(triggerPin, LOW);

SerialUSB.print(Indio.digitalRead(echoPin));

// Measure the echo signal duration

Indio.digitalMode(echoPin, INPUT);

long duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);

SerialUSB.println(duration);

// Convert the duration into distance

float distance = duration * 0.034 / 2; // Speed of sound is approximately 340 m/s

// Print the distance

SerialUSB.print("Distance: ");

SerialUSB.print(distance);

SerialUSB.println(" cm");

delay(1000);

}

Jacob Rock
Jacob Rock
| 0 0 0
Asked on 7/3/23, 9:39 AM
vote